2023 Dally M Medal live updates: Voting change to cause chaos, how to stream, start time, red carpet photos, favourites

Welcome to news.com.au’s coverage of the 2023 Dally M Medal.

Rugby league’s highest individual honour will be awarded on the NRL’s night of nights, with New Zealand Warriors halfback Shaun Johnson the favourite to take out the top gong.

Watch The NRL Women’s Premiership Grand Final Live on Kayo Sports. Newcastle Knights vs Gold Coast Titans SUN 1 OCT 3:55PM AEDT. Join Kayo now and start streaming instantly >

He steered the Warriors to a top four finish in a resurgent season that ended in last weekend’s preliminary final loss to the Broncos.

Johnson is expected to face competition from the likes of Payne Haas, Nathan Cleary, Harry Grant and Kalyn Ponga, who starred in Newcastle’s winning streak to finish the season.

Haas led the vote count before voting went behind closed doors after round 12.

The team of the year will also be announced, as well as the women’s Dally M medallist.

5.15pm – Voting change set to wreak havoc

The Dally M voting system has changed this year, with two independent judges handing out six points for each game on a 3-2-1 basis, rather than just one judge.

With six votes up for grabs per game, it means there could me more flucuation in the leaderboard and leaves the door open for a player like Kalyn Ponga to make a late charge for the medal.

Players suspended for two or more games are ineligible, ruling out Reece Walsh, Scott Drinkwater and Valentine Holmes.


The Dally M Medal takes place in Sydney on Wednesday night. Fans can watch the action on Kayo Sports — coverage of the red carpet begins from 6pm AEST before the ceremony starts at 8pm.


Payne Haas 30

Nathan Cleary 27

Harry Grant 25

Nicho Hynes 25

Reece Walsh 24

Latrell Mitchell 23

Ben Hunt 22

Cody Walker 22

Dylan Edwards 22

Shaun Johnson 22


COACH: Kevin Walters (Broncos), Andrew Webster (Warriors), Ivan Cleary (Panthers)

CAPTAIN: Adam Reynolds (Broncos), Tohu Harris (Warriors), Isaah Yeo (Panthers)

ROOKIE: Jahream Bula (Wests Tigers), William Warbrick (Storm), Sunia Turuva (Panthers)


FULLBACK: James Tedesco (Roosters), Dylan Edwards (Panthers), Kalyn Ponga (Knights)

WINGERS: Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors), Jamayne Isaako (Dolphins), Brian To’o (Panthers), Dominic Young (Knights), Selwyn Cobbo (Broncos), Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks)

CENTRES: Stephen Crichton (Panthers), Bradman Best (Knights), Kotoni Staggs (Broncos), Campbell Graham (Rabbitohs), Herbie Farnworth (Broncos), Izack Tago (Panthers)

FIVE-EIGHTH: Ezra Mam (Broncos), Cameron Munster (Storm), Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)

HALFBACK: Nathan Cleary (Panthers), Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), Shaun Johnson (Warriors)

HOOKER: Wayde Egan (Warriors), Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers), Harry Grant (Storm)

PROPS: Lindsay Collins (Roosters), Payne Haas (Broncos), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm), Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles), Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)

BACK ROWERS: Liam Martin (Panthers), Briton Nikora (Sharks), Tyson Frizell (Knights), Haumole Olakau’atu (Sea Eagles), David Fifita (Titans), Hudson Young (Raiders)

LOCK: Tohu Harris (Warriors), Isaah Yeo (Panthers), Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)

Previous Dally M winners

2022 Nicho Hynes

2021 Tom Trbojevic

2020 Jack Wighton

2019 James Tedesco

2018 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

2017 Cameron Smith

2016 Cooper Cronk and Jason Taumalolo

2015 Johnathan Thurston

2014 Jarryd Hayne and Johnathan Thurston

2013 Cooper Cronk

2012 Ben Barba

Leave a Comment