Cricket news 2023: New Zealand’s Ish Sodhi run out via ‘mankad’ only to return after sporting act

New Zealand’s Ish Sodhi thought his innings was over.

Having been finally been caught out wandering out of his crease by a quick-witted Hasan Mahmud at the nonstriker’s end, the Kiwi has unwittingly triggered global debate about cricket’s “Mankad” dismissal.

Watch every match of The 2023 Toyota AFL Finals Series before the Grand Final Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo Sports. Join now and start streaming instantly >

With New Zealand ramping up their first innings and Sodhi on just four as the Kiwis tried to make the most of a strong middle-overs recovery, Mahmud whipped off the bails after launching into a half-hearted delivery stride, and after reviewing with the umpires, it was confirmed that Sodhi was in fact short of his crease.

Sodhi walked off the ground sarcastically clapping the dismissal, but as he reached the boundary rope, Bangladesh captain Litton Das told the umpire he wanted to withdraw the appeal and call Sodhi back.

Informed of the sporting move, Sodhi came back with a grin on his face and gave Mahmud a hug, and would continue on to score 35 and anchor the end of New Zealand’s innings.

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal however, didn’t agree with the move to recall Sodhi, saying the mode of dismissal was justified.

“I don’t see anything wrong in it,” Iqbal told press after the match.

“The rule is there. If we get someone out, or one of us gets out in that manner, I don’t think we should react the way people are reacting nowadays.”

Iqbal said it was a collective call as to whether Bangladesh would continue with the Mankad.

“I think it is a team decision,” he said.

“We will definitely talk about it after today’s incident. If it is a team decision that we will take wickets in this way, we will.

“If we don’t want to take it, we will not try it.

“I don’t think it looks good to bring back a batter after getting him out. Either we take it, or we don’t do it.”

New Zealand finished on 254, and Sodhi would run rampant to take 6/39 in the second innings and lead the Black Caps to an 86 run victory.

The haul marks Sodhi’s best career figures in ODI cricket.

While the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), who are responsible for the Laws of the Game, have made moves to destigmatise the mode of dismissal in recent years, there remains a controversy around the dismissal, with fans, pundits and players alike divided on its merits.

“The bowler is always painted as the villain but it is a legitimate way to dismiss someone and it is the nonstriker who is stealing the ground,” Fraser Stewart, MCC Laws Manager, told media in 2022.

“It is legitimate, it is a run-out and therefore it should live in the run-out section of the laws.”

Social media cricket personality Peter Della Penna took to Twitter to go through Sodhi’s innings, noting that of the 24 balls he was at the nonstriker’s end for, he left his crease early on every single ball.

New Zealand will play Bangladesh in another ODI in Mirpur on September 26, their last ODI before the World Cup.

Leave a Comment